Happy Purim! Purim is a fun jewish holiday that’s celebrated by going to carnivals, dressing up in costume, hearing thousands of year old stories, giving “mishlochach manot” (sending gifts filled with yummy treats to all your loved ones)…and last but not least…HAMANTASHENS! We eat jelly filled triangle-shaped cookies on Purim that resembles the ear of the villan of the Purim story.  Whether you celebrate the holiday or not, these cookies will knock your socks off. Hope you enjoy 🙂

This recipe comes straight out of my mom’s kitchen.  She got the recipe from my nursery school sometime around 1989/90.  We keep this 20-year-old piece of paper  (which now almost seems like an artifact) taped up in a book filled with all my family’s favorite recipes.  Nothing seemed more fit than to post the recipe itself:

Now let me walk you through it…Oven @ 375

 

(1) Mix all the ingredients together. The dough is really flakey, so you’re going to have to get in there with your hands to get the ingredients  well combined. I cut the dough in half and made two balls, one for my strawberry flavor and one for my raspberry flavor.

 


(2) Using a wood or flat surface, spread some extra flour out on the board. Roll out the dough about 1/6 inch thick. Next, either using a medium-sized circle cookie cutter or a cup create circle cut outs. Collect the scraps and re-roll until you’re out of dough (you should roughly have about 40 hamantashens).

 

 

 

(3) Fill the center of each circle with 1/2 tsp of preserves (strawberry and raspberry and my favorite!)

 

 

(4) Next, wet your fingers with warm water, using your thumb to work the bottoms and your pointer fingers to work the two top sides, create a triangle shape and pinch very tightly with your fingers.  See demonstration -> (My sister-in-law has a technique where she folds over the corner and then pinches at the top, guaranteed to keep them sealed..I think i got that right Dana?) If you want the cookies to get a more golden color you can brush egg yolks lightly on the sides, I don’t recommend it..I think it makes the cookie mushy)

 

(5) Spray a non-stick cookie sheet with non stick spray and line cookies up an inch apart.  Bake for 20 minutes.

 

 

 

After I baked these guys up I put them in treat bags for my misloach manot 🙂  Happy Purim!

